University of Wisconsin–Madison



There are 17 people who work regularly on the CT Protocol Optimization team, with contributions from many others in the Radiology and Physics Departments who are too numerous to mention herein. These experienced and qualified team members range in responsibility from radiologists with diverse subspecialties, to medical physicists, to technologists and radiology managers, to an administrative professional. Their roles on the project team are reflected below:

  • Aumann Lisa MBA – Project Administrator
  • Avey D Gregory MD – CT Section Lead-Neuroradiology
  • Bartels Carrie RT(R)(CT) – Lead CT Project Technologist / Senior CT Technologist
  • Bour K Robert MD – Validation Support and CT Modality Chief-Community
  • Bruce Richard MD – PACS and Radiance QA Programming
  • François J Christopher MD – CT Section Lead-Cardiovascular
  • Gill G Kara MD – CT Section Lead-Pediatrics
  • Kanne P Jeffrey MD– CT Section Lead-Chest
  • Lubner G Meghan MD – CT Section Lead-Abdominal
  • Nowakowski Kandace – CT Radiology Manager-The American Center
  • Pozniak Myron MD – CT Protocol Project Manager/Team Lead
  • Pulfer Kari – CT Radiology Manager-1 South Park Street Clinic
  • Ranallo Frank PhD, DABR – Medical Physicist
  • Stephenson W Jason MD – CT Section Lead-Musculoskeletal
  • Szczykutowicz Tim PhD, DABR – Medical Physicist / ISO Specialist
  • Wasmund Peter RT, MBA– CT Radiology Manager-University Hospital
  • Wendt Gary MD, MBA – PACS and Radiance QA Programming

The fusion of the clinical expertise of our radiologists, the technical oversight of our physicists, and the practical feedback of our technologists is essential to the success of this entire program. The process of routine collaboration among the team members has led to the development of a very robust set of CT protocols. As technology changes and the medical sciences advance, UW’s protocols continue to evolve.

CT Protocols Advisory Board
taken at Medical Advisory Board meeting on 05/12/2017.

UW CT Protocol Optimization Team Photo

Back Row, L-R:Myron Pozniak, MD; Greg Avey, MD; Meg Lubner, MD; Pete Wasmund, MBA,RT(R); Kara G. Gill, MD;
Rob Bour, MD; Kandace Nowakowski, MSM,RT(R); Tim Szczykutowicz, PhD, DABR; Jason Stephenson, MD; Tom Grist, MD
Front Row, L-R:Chris François, MD; Frank Ranallo, PhD, DABR; Carrie Bartels, RT(R)(CT); Lisa Aumann, MBA
Not Pictured:Jeff Kanne, MD

We’d like to recognize and thank our team members. For additional information, click on the names below to get to their profile:

Lisa Aumann, MBA

Senior Radiology Project Specialist, Outreach

(608) 265-2889

Gregory Avey, MD

Assistant Professor (CHS)

(608) 262-2435

Carrie Bartels, RT

Imaging Specialist (CT) Senior

Robert Bour, MD

Clinical Assistant Professor

(608) 417-6090

Richard Bruce, MD

Assistant Professor (CHS)

(608) 263-9179

Kara Gill, MD

Associate Professor (CHS)

(608) 263-8922

Jeffrey Kanne, MD

Professor (CHS)

(608) 358-2781

Meghan Lubner, MD

Associate Professor (CHS)

(608) 265-3433

Kandace Nowakowski

Radiology Manager

(608) 440-6279

Myron Pozniak, MD

Professor (CHS)

(608) 263-8312

Kari Pulfer

Medical Imaging Manager @ 1 S. Park (CT, General, and Satellite Clinics)

(608) 287-2157

Frank Ranallo, PhD

Associate Professor (CHS)

(608) 263-5713

Jason Stephenson, MD

Assistant Professor (CHS)

(608) 263-9474

Tim Szczykutowicz, PhD

Assistant Professor (CHS)

(608) 263-5729

Gary Wendt, MD, MBA

Professor (CHS)

(608) 263-1053