University of Wisconsin–Madison

Community Radiology

The University of Wisconsin Department of Radiology Community Section consists of 25 board-certified, subspecialty trained radiologists. This diverse group of radiologists combines expertise in Angio-Interventional Radiology, Cardiothoracic Imaging, Computed Tomography, Body Imaging, Breast Imaging, Musculoskeletal Imaging and Intervention, Magnetic Resonance Imaging, Neuroimaging, Nuclear Medicine, Pediatric Radiology and Ultrasound in community hospital and outpatient clinic settings. Community Section faculty also provide occasional coverage at University Hospital and Clinics, Madison, WI and maintain close ties with our academic colleagues. The Community Section embodies the Wisconsin Idea, bringing high quality medical imaging to patients in south central Wisconsin. Imaging procedures and protocols that previously may have only been available at academic medical centers are being provided to patients in smaller patient-centered hospitals and outpatient clinics through the efforts of the Community Section. In addition, Community Section members are active in a number of quality and patient safety initiatives, organized medicine, research and education as well as serving as volunteers in a variety of non-profit organizations in Dane County.

We currently provide patient care at the following hospitals and outpatient clinics:

In Madison:

  • Associated Physicians
  • Group Health Cooperative of South Central Wisconsin Capitol Clinic
  • Meriter Hospital
  • UW Medical Foundation East Towne Clinic
  • UW Medical Foundation Odana Atrium Clinic
  • UW Medical Foundation West Towne Clinic

In Dane County:

  • Group Health Cooperative of South Central Wisconsin Hatchery Hills Clinic, Fitchburg, WI
  • UW Medical Foundation Cottage Grove Clinic, Cottage Grove, WI
  • UW Medical Foundation Cross Plains Clinic, Cross Plains, WI
  • UW Medical Foundation Deforest Clinic, Deforest, WI
  • UW Medical Foundation Fitchburg Clinic, Fitchburg, WI
  • UW Medical Foundation McFarland Clinic, McFarland, WI
  • UW Medical Foundation Monona Clinic, Monona, WI
  • UW Medical Foundation Mt. Horeb Clinic, Mt. Horeb, WI
  • UW Medical Foundation Oregon Clinic, Oregon, WI
  • UW Medical Foundation Stoughton Clinic, Stoughton, WI
  • UW Medical Foundation Sun Prairie Clinic, Sun Prairie, WI
  • UW Medical Foundation Waunakee Clinic, Waunakee, WI

In Dodge County:

  • UW Medical Foundation Horicon Clinic, Horicon, WI

In Jefferson County:

  • Fort Memorial Hospital, Fort Atkinson, WI
  • UW Medical Foundation Palmyra Clinic, Palmyra, WI

In Juneau County:

  • Mile Bluff Medical Center/Hess Memorial Hospital, Mauston, WI

In Richland County:

  • Richland Hospital, Richland Center, WI
  • Richland Medical Center, Richland Center, WI

Contact Us

Section Chief

Francis Thornton, MD

Associate Professor

FThornton@uwhealth.org

(608) 417-6090

Section Administrative Assistant

Edward Borman, MD

Associate Professor

EBorman@uwhealth.org

(608) 417-6090

Robert Bour, MD

Assistant Professor

RBour@uwhealth.org

(608) 417-6090

Samuel Charles, MD

Associate Professor

SCharles2@uwhealth.org

(608) 417-6090

Peter Chase, MD

Associate Professor

PChase@uwhealth.org

(608) 417-5871

Chris Guglielmo, MD

Associate Professor

CGuglielmo@uwhealth.org

(608) 417-6090

Carolyn Haerr, MD

Associate Professor

CHaerr@uwhealth.org

(608) 417-6090

John Khalil, MD

Associate Professor

JKhalil@uwhealth.org

(608) 417-5871

Newrhee Kim, MD

Associate Professor

NKim@uwhealth.org

(608) 417-5871

Emily Lewis, MD

Associate Professor

ELewis@uwhealth.org

(608) 417-6090

B. Keegan Markhardt, MD

Associate Professor

BMarkhardt@uwhealth.org

(608) 417-5871

Venkata Meduri, MD

Assistant Professor

VMeduri@uwhealth.org

(608) 417-6090

Bora Ozel, MD

Associate Professor

BOzel@uwhealth.org

(608) 417-6090

John Park, MD

Associate Professor

JPark@uwhealth.org

(608) 417-6090

Tyler Prout, MD

Associate Professor

TProut@uwhealth.org

(608) 417-6090

Francis Thornton, MD

Associate Professor

FThornton@uwhealth.org

(608) 417-6090