Skip to Content

Coulter Foundation Awards 2nd Year of Funding for Stroke Rehabilitation Research

Posted on Apr 22, 2010

Vivek Prabhakaran MD, PhD, Assistant Professor in Neuroradiology and Justin Williams PhD, Assistant Professor in Biomedical Engineering received a 2nd year of funding from the Coulter Foundation totaling $90,000 for the proposal “A Closed Loop Neural Activity Triggered Stroke Rehabilitation Device.” This project proposes to do a preclinical efficacy trial on a prototype stroke rehabilitation device. The device will consist of three components; 1) an EEG sensor system for detecting real-time volitional command signals from motor cortex, 2) a functional electrical stimulation (FES) component for activating muscle contraction in the affected limb, and 3) a sensory stimulation module (i.e., tongue stimulation display) to provide sensory feedback and increase the general excitability of the afflicted sensory-motor system through latent intact neural pathways. It is proposed that this device would be used during post-stroke rehabilitation procedures (i.e., physical therapy sessions) and would reduce the duration of rehabilitation and increase the level of recovery. As an adjunct to the device, we will also develop fMRI imaging protocols for post-stroke patient screening and rehabilitation planning. Main collaborators include Mitchell Tyler, MS, Justin Sattin, MD, Dorothy Farrar Edwards, PhD.

More news:

The Inaugural Clark Cup Games

UWMF Medical Imaging Department Reaccredited As Diagnostic Imaging Center of Excellence

UW Radiology at AAPM 2017

UW Radiology Training Program Named Finalist in 2017 Minnies

Advances in Imaging: 3D Digital Breast Tomosynthesis

Dr. Mark Schiebler Joins Radiology Editorial Board

Dr. Broderick to Be Inaugurated President of Dane County Medical Society

Amy Romandine Wins UW Health Program Coordinator Excellence Award

Dr. Louis Hinshaw Wigs out for Fundraising Challenge

Dr. Pickhardt Receives Multi-Million Dollar NIH Grant

New Clinic Space for Department of Radiology

Dr. Cho Receives WMIC Best Clinical Paper Award

RSNA Offers Opportunity to Improve Grant-Writing Savvy

Dr. David Bluemke at SCCT 2017

Dr. Yu Named 2017 KL2 Scholar

Dr. Christiane Burton Receives Silvia Fedoruk Prize

Dr. Reeder 2011 Liver Fat Paper is Most-Cited in JMRI

Last updated: 10/18/2017
Feedback, questions, or accessibility issues:
© 2017 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System