Skip to Content

UW Radiology lights up spring meetings

Posted on May 15, 2009

Several important Radiology-specific scientific and educational meetings take place every spring, including the Society for Computed Body Tomography/Magnetic Resonance (SCBT/MR), the Society of Gastrointestinal Radiology (SGR), the International Society for Magnetic Resonance (ISMRM), and the American Roentgen Ray Society (ARRS). We knew in advance of these meetings that UW Radiology was slated to have a big presence, however collectively our faculty, residents, fellows and students all contributed to an unprecedented showing of the breadth and depth of our research and teaching. Highlights include:

  • For the second year in a row, colleagues in the Abdominal Imaging Section and the CTC group won the Best Paper Award at the SGR Abdominal Radiology Course in Hawaii. Perry Pickhardt, MD presented the award winning paper entitled "Unsuspected cancer detected at CT colonography screening in over 10,000 asymptomatic adults." The CTC group continues to demonstrate their national and international leadership in research aimed at preventing colon cancer, a curable disease if detected early. Other UW highlights from the SGR-SUR meeting included: Nine UW abstracts presented at the Sunday scientific session (out of a total of 50 papers), 3 plenary session lectures, 6 workshops, and 2 focus sessions. Our trainees stood out, for seven UW residents and fellows presented their scientific work (and enjoyed a trip to Hawaii). The entire Abdominal imaging section deserves to be commended for the quality of their research as well as their success in engaging our trainees in the effort.
  • At the ISMRM , the MR research group presented a record number of scientific papers (55), and became one of the most prolific institutional contributors to the annual meeting, which had a record attendance of over 5000 MRI researchers. Our own James Holmes, PhD, was a finalist for the extremely competitive ISMRM young investigator award for his work, entitled “Three Dimensional Imaging of Ventilation Dynamics in Obstructive Lung Disease.” Dr. Holmes’ presentation showcased UW's new method for whole-lung 3D MR imaging of respiration dynamics and gas trapping in asthma using hyperpolarized (magnetized) Helium-3 gas. His work used a combination with a novel accelerated data acquisition techniques developed at UW to allow an unprecedented evaluation of lung imaging in patients with asthma. Collaborators include O'Halloran, Brodsky, Bley, Francois, Velikina, Sorkness, Busse, and Fain. Dr. Holmes, who recently completed his post-doctoral fellowship at UW, will remain onsite at WIMR as a scientist for GE's Applied Sciences Laboratory, joining Drs. Jean Brittain and Reed Busse as affiliates of UW Radiology.
  • At the ARRS, seventeen UW Radiology faculty and staff presented 28 abstracts and presentations. Importantly, our trainees had a strong presence at the meeting, for two residents, four fellows, and four medical students presented their work. From past experience in our own residency and faculty recruitment process, it is clear that early engagement of medical students in imaging research is strongly predictive of future success in Radiology.
  • At the SCBT/MR , Radiology faculty were awarded two of the 6 major scientific awards, including the prestigious Lauterbur Award for the best paper in Magnetic Resonance. Dr. Thorsten Bley won the Lauterbur award for his presentation regarding the use UW's new phase-contrast MRI (VIPR-PC) to measure the pressure gradients across renal artery stenoses non-invasively. Dr. Bley and colleagues showed that the VIPR-PC measurements are accurate for measuring arterial pressure gradients at renal stenoses, therefore this new method provides a powerful tool for non-invasive assessment of the hemodynamic significance of an arterial stenosis. Collaborators include Oliver Wieben, Kevin Johnson, Chris Francois, Scott Reeder, Mark Schiebler, Tom Grist, Dan Consigny, Kelly Hellenbrandt and the study was funded in part by the NIH and the UW Radiology R&D committee.

    Dr. Scott Reeder was awarded a cum-laude award for his paper that described the development and clinical application of time-resolved MRA for the identification of the spinal artery in patients with aortic aneurysms. This new method is an important tool for reducing the risk of paralysis following aneurysm repair, and has been embraced by our surgical colleagues. Key collaborators and coauthors included: Cory Duffek, Thorsten Bley, Chris Francois, Mark Schiebler, Tom Grist and Matthew Mell. In addition, Dr. Reeder was elected as a fellow of the society, an honor that is bestowed upon a select few members and contributors to SCBT. He joins Drs. Grist, Janet Kuhlman and Fred Lee as fellows of SCBT.
Please join us in congratulating our many talented faculty and staff on their success, and thanking them their contributions to the field of Radiology through their research and teaching effort!

More news:

CT Protocol Optimization Project Update

Growing Radiology Subspecialty Gives Students Chance to Learn and Interact

Radiology Team Hones New Cancer Treatment Focusing on Tumor Ablation

Dr. Lubner Selected for 2018 Figley Fellowship

Weaver Named Diversity Advocate

3rd Annual University of Wisconsin Interventional Radiology Symposium

Breast Imaging Section Leadership Announcement

NIH Continues Funding for Dr. Reeder’s Liver Disease Research

Dr. David Bluemke Presents Stanford University Grand Rounds

Dr. Avey Selected As ASNR Outreach Professor

Aunt Minnie Features UW CT Time Efficiency Study

Dr. Jeannine Ruby Completes ABC News Resident Rotation Program

Last updated: 2/15/2018
Feedback, questions, or accessibility issues:
© 2018 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System