Skip to Content

UW Radiology wins awards at SCBT/MR

Posted on May 15, 2009

At the 2009 Annual meeting of the Society for Computed Body Tomography/ Magnetic Resonance, (SCBT/MR), Radiology faculty were awarded two of the 6 major scientific awards, including the prestigious Lauterbur Award for the best paper in Magnetic Resonance. Dr. Thorsten Bley won the Lauterbur award for his presentation regarding the use UW's new phase-contrast MRI (VIPR-PC) to measure the pressure gradients across renal artery stenoses non-invasively. Dr. Bley and colleagues showed that the VIPR-PC measurements are accurate for measuring arterial pressure gradients at renal stenoses, therefore this new method provides a powerful tool for non-invasive assessment of the hemodynamic significance of an arterial stenosis. Collaborators include Oliver Wieben, Kevin Johnson, Chris Francois, Scott Reeder, Mark Schiebler, Tom Grist, Dan Consigny, Kelly Hellenbrandt and the study was funded in part by the NIH and the UW Radiology R&D committee.

Dr. Scott Reeder was awarded a cum-laude award for his presentation that described the development and clinical application of time-resolved MRA for the identification of the spinal artery in patients with aortic aneurysms. This new method is an important tool for reducing the risk of paralysis following aneurysm repair, and has been embraced by our surgical colleagues. Key collaborators and coauthors included: Cory Duffek, Thorsten Bley, Chris Francois, Mark Schiebler, Tom Grist and Matthew Mell. In addition, Dr. Reeder was elected as a fellow of the SCBT/MR, an honor that is bestowed upon a select few members and contributors to SCBT. He joins UW's Drs. Grist, Janet Kuhlman, and Fred T. Lee Jr. as fellows of the Society.

More news:

CT Protocol Optimization Project Update

Growing Radiology Subspecialty Gives Students Chance to Learn and Interact

Radiology Team Hones New Cancer Treatment Focusing on Tumor Ablation

Dr. Lubner Selected for 2018 Figley Fellowship

Weaver Named Diversity Advocate

3rd Annual University of Wisconsin Interventional Radiology Symposium

Breast Imaging Section Leadership Announcement

NIH Continues Funding for Dr. Reeder’s Liver Disease Research

Dr. David Bluemke Presents Stanford University Grand Rounds

Dr. Avey Selected As ASNR Outreach Professor

Aunt Minnie Features UW CT Time Efficiency Study

Last updated: 2/19/2018
Feedback, questions, or accessibility issues:
© 2018 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System